Voyage of the Mariner

High above the sky,
a million ship masts high and more,
do you think there could be
the faint possibility
of a distant unknown shore?

A place that no one knows,
neither beast nor humankind;
In the middle of night,
A twinkling point of light
I see in the eye of my mind.

To you it is the sun,
and for me it is a guide
across the wide black sea
to where I want to be,
forever by your side.

I would gladly cross the distance
To be alone with you.
I long for your touch;
the thought of you is such
rapture and lonely sorrow.

In spite of all resistance,
there’s nothing I won’t do.
No distance is too far;
I’ll travel to your star
To be with you tomorrow.

(1997)

Leave a Reply

